Living Waters

$14.99

Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, Living Water is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women’s search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible – the woman at the well.

In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple and Paradise, Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of liberation and reconciliation, love and faith.

in stock within 3-5 days of online purchase

Description

SKU (ISBN): 9780060000882
Obery Hendricks
Binding: Trade Paper
Published: 2004
Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Living Waters”

Your email address will not be published.